Skip to main content

Laboratory of Synthetic Organic Chemistry

The Laboratory is engaged in the study of photochemical reaction mechanisms and preparation of bioactive compounds as well as in the research of diamondoids, cage molecules with potential application in the field of advanced materials.

Laboratory of Synthetic Organic Chemistry





Laboratory for Synthetic Organic Chemistry is continuing the tradition of the former Laboratory of Synthetic and Physical Organic Chemistry dealing with the chemistry of cage molecules. Research interests have recently been shifted to three main themes:

  • photochemical reaction mechanisms and supramolecular control of photochemical reactivity
  • synthesis of host and guest molecules for different supramolecular systems and applications
  • synthesis of biologically active molecules

Covering various synthetic, analytical and spectroscopic techniques on substrates including polycyclic molecules, heterocycles, and peptides, the research activities in the laboratory are ideal for training young researchers in graduate and post-graduate education (BSc, MSc, and PhD thesis).

LSOC 2023 (from left to right: Nikola Basarić, Marija Alešković, Marko Bogomolec, Margareta Sohora, Antonela Šimunić, Enidija Rajaković, Antonija Erben, Katarina Zlatić, Mladena Glavaš, Marina Šekutor, Igor Sviben and Josip Draženović)

LSOC 2013  (from left to right: Enidija Lukša, Marija Matković, Marija Alešković, Martina Tireli, Nikola Cindro, Tatjana Šumanovac, Matija Sambol, Vesna Blažek Bregović, Marina Šekutor, Kata Mlinarić-Majerski, Đani Škalamera, Antonela Šimunić, Leo Mandić and Barica Baborsky; sitting: Nikola Basarić and Jelena Veljković)

LSOC 2011 (from left to right: Nikola Cindro, Marija Matković, Jelena Veljković, Marina Šekutor, Lucija Ptiček, Kata Mlinarić-Majerski, Tatjana Šumanovac, Marija Alešković, Margareta Sohora, Nikola Basarić and Vesna Blažek Bregović; down: Jakov Ivković)

LSOC 2010 (from left to right, behind: Ines Vujasinović, Margareta Sohora, Vesna Blažek Bregović, Nikola Basarić, Tatjana Šumanovac and Damir Bobinac; middle: Marija Alešković, Jelena Veljković, Kata Mlinarić-Majerski, Enidija Lukša, Marina Šekutor and Nikola Cindro; down: Marija Matković)


LSOC 2006 (from left to right, behind: Renato Margeta, Nikola Basarić, Oliver Franković and Marija Matković; middle: Marija Alešković, Ines Vujasinović, Jelena Veljković, Kata Mlinarić-Majerski and Dragica Petračija)

LSOC 2002 (from left to right: Goran Kragol, Tatjana Šumanovac, Dunja Šafar-Cvitaš, Marijana Vinković, Dragica Petračija, Lada Klaić, Renato Margeta and Danko Škare; sitting: Jelena Veljković, Kata Mlinarić-Majerski and Ines Vujasinović)

Former LSOC employees

Prof. dr. sc. Kata Mlinarić-Majerski (Head of the LSOC during 1990-2015)

Mag. chem. Josip Draženović (MI, Karlovac)

Mag. appl. chem. Marko Bogomolec (Czechia)

Dr. sc. Katarina Zlatić (Czechia)

Dr. sc. Leo Mandić (ZKM-IRB, Zagreb)

Mag. pharm. Matej Cindrić

Dr. sc. Irena Sović (ZFK-IRB, Zagreb)

Dr. sc. Marija Matković (LBIS-IRB, Zagreb)

Dr. sc. Đani Škalamera (PMF, Zagreb)

Dr. sc. Vesna Blažek Bregović (DPC-RBI, Zagreb)

Dr. sc. Jelena Veljković (retired)

Mag. chem. Matija Sambol (Fidelta, Zagreb)

Mag. appl. chem. Martina Tireli (DPC-RBI, Zagreb)

Dipl. ing. Jakov Ivković (Institute of Organic Chemistry, Technische Universität Graz) Ines Vujasinović (Fidelta, Zagreb)

Renato Margeta

Dipl. ing. Oliver Franković

Dr. sc. Danko Škare, research associate (retired)

Dr. sc. Maja Vinković, (NMR center, RBI, Zagreb)

Mr. sc. Lada Klaić

Dr. sc. Goran Kragol, research associate (Fidelta, Zagreb)

Mr. sc. Dunja Šafar Cvitaš (retired)

Dr. sc. Dražen Pavlović

Dr. sc. Mira Kaselj

Dr. sc. Vlado Vinković (CAT-BIO, RBI, Zagreb; retired)


Dr. sc. Ivana Antol, Laboratory for physical-organic chemistry, Ruđer Bošković Institute, Zagreb László Biczók, Institute of Materials and Environmental Chemistry, Research Centre for Natural Sciences Hungarian Academy of Sciences, Budapest, Hungary

Prof. Cornelia Bohne, Department of Chemistry, University of Victoria, Canada

Dr. sc. Nađa Došlić, Division of Physical Chemistry, Ruđer Bošković Institute, Zagreb

Prof. Fausto Elisei, Dipartimento di chimica, Universita degli Studi di Perugia

Dr. sc. Ruža Frkanec, Centre for Research and Knowledge Transfer in Biotechnology, University of Zagreb,

Prof. Robert Glaser, Ben-Gurion University of the Negev, Israel

Prof. Axel G. Griesbeck, Department of Chemistry, University of Cologne, Germany

Prof. L. Isaacs, University of Maryland, U.S.A.

Dr. sc. Marijeta Kralj, Division of Molecular Medicine, Ruđer Bošković Institute, Zagreb

Dr. sc. Lidija Uzelac, Division of Molecular Medicine, Ruđer Bošković Institute, Zagreb

Dr. sc. Branka Mihaljević, Division of Metrials Chemistry, Ruđer Bošković Institute, Zagreb

Prof. David Lee Phillips, Department of Chemistry, The University of Hong Kong

Prof. Hrvoj Vančik, Faculty of Science, University of Zagreb

Prof. Peter Wan, Department of Chemistry, University of Victoria, Canada

This site uses cookies.. Some of these cookies are essential, while others help us improve your experience by providing insights into how the site is being used. For more detailed information on the cookies we use, please check our Privacy Policy.

Customise settings
  • Necessary cookies enable core functionality. The website cannot function properly without these cookies, and can only be disabled by changing your browser preferences.